Start Close In …

“… start with the first thing close in, the step you don’t want to take.”

This from the poem Start Close In by David Whyte and the name of my blog. It reminds me to start small with the first thing and not become so overwhelmed by all the possibilities that I don’t start at all.  Start with the first step.

I’ve been thinking about and talking about starting a blog for probably close to two years, but I’ve always gotten too overwhelmed by not staying in the now. Thinking that  no one would read it and then, always then, the comparison trap. The “I don’t write as well as ____,” “I have nothing interesting to say like ____ does,” “I’m not as smart as____,” and the dreaded “I’m not enough.” Always comparing and always looking into the future, not staying close in, starting with the first step.

So here it is, my blog. I don’t know where it will go and I’ve finally let go of any expectations for it. If I’m the only reader it will still be an accomplishment. It will just evolve as it will, as I do, as we all do.

My intention for it? To share my journey and maybe have others share theirs with me. I’m beginning on a new path in my life, as I’m now well past mid-life but don’t yet consider myself old. It’s an interesting place to be, especially realizing that I can still be anything I want to be when I grow up! Even now, at nearly 68 years of age!  Who knew? Certainly not me and it comes as a great surprise at the number of blessings that come with aging.

That said, at my age the archetype is the crone, a sign of wisdom and knowledge. I SO don’t feel wise or knowledgeable, but nonetheless, here I am. Maybe in the course of writing this blog I’ll discover that I do have a bit of wisdom to share. Or maybe not and that’s ok too.

Here I’ll write about my view of life from this place. It will include musings on aging, grief, and loss.  It will also, and mostly I hope, include my thoughts on joy and love and compassion and laughter and all the gifts that each day brings. I’ll probably also share a photo of the new tattoo I’m planning to get soon!

I hope some will choose to join me as I continue to discover what comes next and share with me the path you’re traveling.

33 thoughts on “Start Close In …

  1. Tina – I’m intrigued and eager to learn more. From what I read above, I’m certain that you are filled with knowledge and wisdom as well as love, joy, compassion, and laughter. I’m so privileged to be among the first to read your blog. Go YOU!!

  2. Congrats!!!! I am so thrilled that you’ve got this up and running. And am honored that you let me in on the secret so I can follow along on your journey.

    I love the inspiration for the name of the blog and the intention behind it: “Start small with the first thing and not become so overwhelmed by all the possibilities that I don’t start at all.” What a great reminder! I need it, over and over again!

    I look forward to sharing more of your journey and getting to hear your reflections. xo

  3. You are getting a tattoo?! That’s almost as exciting as your first blog post. I’m so glad you finally did it, took the first step. I have so much to learn from you. So much love!

    • Yep, getting a new tattoo! I got my first when I turned 60. And it is pretty exciting! Thanks, so much, Jill, for your encouragement. When I figure out how, I’ll be adding A Thousand Shades of Gray to my blog love list! (BTW, I have so much to learn from you, sweet Jill!)

  4. Congratulations on such an eloquent and inspiring first post, your bravery shines though. I so enjoyed reading the poem from which you have named your blog and empathise with its sentiment. Bravo, well done, I’m looking forward to following your journey; it will surely be full of knowledge and wisdom.

    • Thank you so much, Elissa! And I’m really glad you like the poem; it’s one that helps remind me of what I need to know. I don’t know how much knowledge and wisdom my blog will have, but I’ll like sharing what I discover along the way. By the way, I checked out your blog and love it! Your art is wonderful! Thank you again, Elissa, for your kindness and encouragement.

  5. What a wonderful first blog post!! I love your voice and your attitude and you certainly do have much wisdom to share. I am 52 and got my first tattoo and my nose pierced a few years ago, I now have 2 tattoos and thinking about a 3rd. You’re never too old! I look forward to the evolution of your blog. Congrats!

    • Thank you Vicki! I don’t know how much wisdom I have to share, but I’ll just say what I believe to be true. Love that you got your nose pierced! That’s something I probably won’t do, but I have 5 ear piercings, so maybe that counts! This new tattoo will be my third actually. The first was many years ago, a little violet that now, due to weight gain, looks more like a hydrangia!! My second and favorite tattoo I got when I turned 60! Thanks again so much, Vicki, for your kind words and encouragement!

  6. Oh, yay!!! I am so glad you took the plunge! You are going to love the journey, you will learn so much about yourself, and I am willing to bet that you have tons of wisdom stored up inside of you to share with the rest of us.

    I love the name, and your banner photo! Go Tina!! Woohoooo!

    • Kim, I’m sorry it took me so long to reply. Thank you so much for your kind words! David Whyte had me at the first line of his I ever read. The fact that he “gets” me so well made me realize I’m not alone, a great eye-opener. And by the way, I LOVE your blog and have ever since I first discovered it. I love taking pictures (I can’t call it “photography” at this point because I’m not very good at it) and hope to post a few of mine on this blog eventually. Thank you again. Your words mean a lot. Hugs back.

  7. Pingback: Weekend Reads « Visible and Real

  8. It is so nice to meet someone older than me! That’s meant in a loving way. Hubby is younger and in the music industry where everyone is 12. I do have girlfriends around my age (my longest friend (63 years!) is 4 months older but she lives in California. Closer to home, those I hang with are all 5 – 8 years younger. So I raise my pumpkin beer to our budding friendship and look forward to reading your blog regularly!

    • Honey, I think I’m older than everyone in the world! 🙂 But I don’t really mind. So yes, let’s raise our glasses to our budding friendship (sorry, I don’t have pumpkin beer but it sure sounds good!). I look forward to a growing friendship, Tammy! xoxo

  9. Bravo, my friend! I loved what you shared- you are courageous and real and funny. You have wisdom, and insight and courage. Seems like a wonderful, winning combination to me! The title is a fabulous reminder in itself, and the photo of the pine-cone is perfect for your theme. Thank you for sharing. xoxo

    • Thank you Kathy, for your kind words! It’s kind of scary putting myself out there, but everyone has been so kind it makes me a little more brave. And thanks for liking the pinecone. It’s just one that you can choose for a wordpress theme, but it seems to be “close in” and I really like it for that. I may even keep it forever! I’m so glad to have you in my life! xoxo

Leave a Reply

